I have already bought the ticket to return home, but before I leave, I still have another place I want to visit, which is the burning corpse Temple by the holy river of bagmati.

The burning corpse temple is a temple built in the fifth century AD, whose original name is paspatina temple. The temple is dedicated to Shiva, one of the three great Hindu gods. For more than 1600 years, an endless stream of Hindus came here to worship Shiva. At the same time, generations of Nepalese also held a farewell to the dead in the crematorium in front of the temple.

It's said that the scene you see when you rush to the temple of burning corpses at dusk can make people have a special feeling. The more dark it is, the more true this experience is! But I think the more dark it is, the more frightening It is for this feeling that I choose to go to the burning corpse temple at dusk. Not because I'm brave enough, but because I'm curious!

When you come to the burning corpse temple, the most striking one is a Nepalese style Pagoda Temple with symmetrical sides and double eaves, surrounded by many small temples. Through the temple, you will soon be able to see the bagmati River and six stone crematoria along the river bank. It is said that the two crematoria on the upper reaches are for royal families or nobles, while the four crematoria at the lower reaches are the crematoria for common people. It can be seen that the closer the temple is, the more noble the status will be.

Looking across the bagmati River, more than a dozen white stone towers are high and low on the hillside. It is said that there is a Linga (the genitalia of Shiva) in each stone tower. This may be because Nepalese believe in Shiva to express that "death is rebirth"

The Bagmati river bank is crowded with people, including funeral service, pilgrimage, and visitors. Some people sit on the ground in groups, quietly watching what happens. There was no mourning cry or deafening funeral music beside the crematorium, only the white smoke curling from the bear. Three or two ascetic monks sit quietly on the stone steps by the river. They face the burning fire every day, with the rising smoke

I went to the White Pagoda where Linga was worshipped. I looked for the steps like the local people and sat on the ground. At this time, on the opposite crematorium there is a body will be buried! Relatives wrapped up the body in white cloth, covered with golden silk, then sprinkled with flowers and various colors of Tika powder, and finally placed on the crematorium next to the river on a shelf made up of several pine trees

I couldn't wait for the end of the incineration process. I heard that it would take about three or four hours. I saw cremators on other crematoria shoved the burned ashes into the river. In this way, after the fiery Nirvana and the purification of the holy river, the soul of the dead will eventually flow into the Ganges River in India, and the soul can be freed from the body

Nepalese's indifference to death is awe inspiring. They believe that a soul has 84 million lives, and each reincarnation will raise a level. Therefore, a death is not a sad thing. The burning of corpses is just the most solemn and sacred ceremony for death. For death, no one cries, no one laughs. They have no sorrow, no joy. Perhaps, some are just relaxed.

Leaving the temple, I thought I would be unable to sleep because I had witnessed too many charred bones in the river, but I didn't expect that I would sleep until dawn when I was heartless! Maybe it's because someone is calling in the distance, the blood boiling in the chest has already washed away the smoke.

At the moment when I set foot on the return flight, I remember that there are still some things I will miss in this lovely country, so I have to leave it for the next time...

我也已经买好了回国的机票,但在离开之前,我还有一个地方想去看看,那便是巴格马蒂圣河边的烧尸庙。

烧尸庙时一座建于公元五世纪的神庙,其本名帕斯帕提那神庙,庙内供奉着印度教三大神之一的破坏之神湿婆。一千六百多年来,络绎不绝的印度教徒来到这里朝拜湿婆,与此同时,一代代的尼泊尔人也在神庙前的火葬台为逝去的人举行一场生与死的告别。

听说,黄昏时赶往烧尸庙看到的场景能让人产生一种特殊的感觉,越是天黑,这种体会也是真切!但我觉得越是天黑越让人害怕吧…也就是为了这种感觉,我专门挑在黄昏的时间去往烧尸庙。不是因为我胆子够大,而是我够好奇!

来到烧尸庙,最引人注目的便是一座四边对称、双重屋檐的尼泊尔式金顶塔庙,它的四周还环绕着众多小寺庙。穿过这片寺庙,很快便可以看到巴格马蒂河和分布在河岸边的六座石造的火葬台。听说,位于上游的两座是专供皇室或贵族使用,位于下游的四座火葬台才是平民百姓的火葬场,看得出来,越靠近神庙的位置身份也就越尊贵。

隔着巴格马蒂河向对面望去,十多座白色石塔被高低分布在山坡之上。据说每座石塔内都供奉着一根林迦(湿婆神的生殖器),这也许是尼泊尔人通过对湿婆神的信奉来表达“死亡即是新生”吧…

巴格马蒂河岸上人群熙攘,其中有送葬的,有朝圣的,还有来参观的游客,有些人成群结队的席地而坐,静静地目睹着眼前发生的一切。火葬台旁没有悲恸的哭声,也没有震耳欲聋的丧乐,只有熊袅袅升起的白烟。三三两两的苦行僧安静的坐在河畔的石阶上,他们每天都面对着熊熊燃烧的火焰,伴随着升腾的烟雾若有所思…

我又来到供奉林迦的白塔之间,像当地人一样寻了台阶席地而坐。这时,对面的火葬台上又有一具尸身将被送葬!亲属们将尸体用白布包起,覆上金黄绸缎,再洒下鲜花和各种颜色的蒂卡粉,最后陈放在紧靠河边的火葬台上由数根松木搭起的架子上焚烧…

我等不到焚化过程的结束,听说焚化大概需要三四个小时,我看到其他火葬台上有火葬师将焚烧后的灰烬推倒入河中。这样,经过熊熊大火的涅槃,圣河河水的漂涤,死者的灵魂最终将汇入印度恒河,灵魂便可以脱离躯体而得到解脱…

尼泊尔人对死亡的淡然是令人敬畏的,他们相信,一个灵魂有8400万次生命,每进一个轮回就会提升一个层次,所以,一次死亡并不是一件令人悲痛的事情。而烧尸,只是对死亡最庄严而神圣的仪式,对于死亡,没有人哭,没有人笑,他们并无悲痛,也无欣喜,或许,有的只是轻松。

离开烧尸庙,我以为我会因为目睹了太多河水中烧不尽的焦黑骨渣而睡不着觉,可没想到没心没肺的我一觉就睡到了天亮!也许是因为有人在远方不停的召唤,胸中沸腾的热血早已将烟幕洗刷殆尽。

在我踏上回程飞机的那一刻,想起这个可爱的国度始终还有一些我必将留恋着的事物,也只好留给下次了…

All Comments

Leave a Reply Cancel Reply

Tips: Your email address will not be disclosed!

If you can't see clearly,please click to change...

Collections