Travel to Nepal (23) : Laba Festival

When it was dark, I went back to Zhonghua temple. Lao Zhan and I talked about the temples we had visited that day. I didn't expect that Lao Zhan was so lazy. There are still some temples that I haven't been to. Maybe I'm more perfectionist, so I suggested that Lao Zhan and I should go to the temples together tomorrow!

"Tomorrow is the eighth day of the twelfth lunar month, which is the Laba Festival of our Chinese people," said Lao Zhan. "The Chinese temple will hold porridge giving activities tomorrow. I have to stay in the temple to help."

I nodded a little disappointed, and he said, "this is to let everyone who comes to Zhonghua Temple taste our Laba porridge. I think this activity is more meaningful..."

After hearing this, I hesitated whether I would stay to help tomorrow, but I will leave Lumbini the day after tomorrow, so I can't go to see the temples that I haven't been to with Lao Zhan. However, as Lao Zhan said, the activities of tomorrow are more meaningful

On Laba Festival, many guests signed up to help! All the people still had a good morning class and breakfast. Under the command of the great monk, people were divided into various groups, including those responsible for reception, those responsible for filling porridge, and those responsible for miscellaneous work

Lao Zhan and I were responsible for taking the Laba porridge prepared by the masters from the big iron pot to the big bucket, and then carried it to the gate of Zhonghua temple and handed it to the elder martial brothers who were responsible for distribution. They would put the porridge one by one in a disposable small plastic bowl, and the senior brothers in charge of reception would lead people to taste it.

It's not easy to consume a bucket of porridge, so I have a long interval between work. When we had nothing to do, we also went to help reception. Lao Zhan warmly and the Nepalese and Indian people who came to visit said, "please try If you have a suspicious face, you have to add "Chinese porridge..."

His English is a little strange, I can't help laughing, but it works. Every diner who has tasted Laba porridge will thumbs up and say: "good very good…” Others, like the discovery of treasure, showed a surprise expression, and could not help but sigh: "delicious!" I need another bowl

In the process of giving porridge, sugar and salt are also prepared in the kitchen of the temple in order to adjust people's taste. I didn't think anyone would put salt in Laba porridge, so I was a little surprised at this superfluous operation. Unexpectedly, there are not a few foreigners who add salt to porridge! What surprised me most was the Nepalese people's love for sugar. For a small bowl of porridge, some of them even added three spoonfuls of sugar, and then drank it as if nothing happened. I was a little flustered

After a busy morning, all the porridge has been used up. I didn't expect our work to be finished so fast! Although this job does not seem to be busy enough to consume a whole day's time, Lao Zhan is willing to prepare a whole day to help, which is quite responsible.

After lunch, Lao Zhan was going to take a nap. Seeing his busy morning, he must be exhausted. I couldn't bear to ask him to accompany me to the temple. He could only come to the artificial river of lampini alone.

Starting from the Peace Tower of the world, I went around again.

It was almost dusk when I remembered to go to the station with Xiao Hu to buy back the bus ticket for Kathmandu. The station is next to the market outside the Buddhist temple park. The ticket office is a small tin room with no windows. After inquiry, it is found that there is a night bus back to Kathmandu!

So we discussed and decided to leave lampini overnight.

Music is standard on buses in Nepal. Compared with the ordinary bus, the luxury bus also has a 20-30 inch TV, which has been rolling Indian movies. In addition, the luxury bus also provides free mineral water and biscuits snacks. If one is not enough, you can have another! I am surprised that such humanized service is the standard configuration of Nepalese buses, but the same price of fare in China does not have such treatment.

What's more, the luxury bus looks like it's been driving for years, but there's no smell in the closed compartment! However, the long-running domestic bus not only does not clean the air-conditioning, but also never cleans the seats. The sweat of passengers accumulates year by year, so that the smell on the bus is very bad. If you sit in the car for a long time, if you are not troubled by carsickness, you will be smoked and vomited by the smell.

With the dawn of the sun, we finally returned to Kathmandu. Live in the familiar youth brigade, and familiar friends should go home But coincidentally, the elder brother is still there, and Xiaohai is also there. He has bought the ticket to Thailand and is ready to fly. And Xiaohai has also bought the ticket to fly back to Hangzhou and will fly away soon.

I came back before they disappeared. Once the conversation box was opened, I couldn't close it any more. As soon as I spoke, the "shameless" Xiaohai would take me to the gambling house for dinner. I quickly waved my hand, saying that I didn't want to take advantage of this again

You May Also Like

View More
Travel to Nepal (24) : Farewell
View More
Travel to Nepal (22) : The birthplace of Buddha
View More
Travel to Nepal (21) : China Temple

All Comments

Leave a Reply Cancel Reply

If you can't see clearly,please click to change...

天黑了,我回到中华寺,我和老詹把当天逛完的寺庙聊了个遍,没想到老詹这么懒,到现在还有一些没去过的寺庙。也许是我比较完美主义,于是我提议老詹明天和我一起把没逛过的寺庙都逛完吧!

老詹说:“明天是腊月初八,是咱们中国人的腊八节,中华寺明天会举行施粥活动,我得留在寺里帮忙!”

我有点失望的点了点头,他又说:“这是要让每一个来到中华寺的参观的人尝尝我们的腊八粥,我觉得这个活动比较有意义…”

听他这么一说,我也犹豫起明天是不是也留下来帮忙,可我后天就要离开蓝毗尼,那就不能和老詹去看那些没去过的寺庙了,但这就像老詹说的那样,还是明天的活动比较有意义…

腊八节这天,报名帮忙的客人还真不少!所有的人依旧上好了早课,吃好了早饭,在大和尚的指挥下,人们分为各个小组,有负责接待的,有负责盛粥的,还有负责打杂的…

我和老詹负责把师傅们熬好的腊八粥从大铁锅里盛到大桶里,再抬到中华寺门外,交给负责分发的师兄们,他们会把粥一份份的盛在一次性小塑料碗里,再由负责接待的师兄们将人引来品尝。

想消耗完一大桶粥并不是一个容易的事情,所以我和老詹的干活间隔时间有点长。闲来无事,我们也去帮忙接待,老詹热情的和前来参观的尼泊尔人、印度人说:“please try… laba porridge”,有一脸疑问的食客,他还要再补上一句“chinese porridge…”

他的英语有些生疏,听得我忍俊不禁,但却是起到了作用,每一个尝完腊八粥的食客都会竖起大拇指说:“good…very good…”还有的像发现宝藏一样露出惊喜的表情,不禁叹道:“delicious!”还要多喝一碗才好…

施粥的过程中,为了调剂人们的口味,寺庙的厨房还准备了砂糖和盐。我以为并没有人会在腊八粥里放盐,所以对这多此一举的操作多多少少有点儿惊奇。可没想到的是,在粥里加盐的外国人还真的不在少数!而最让我惊讶的是尼泊尔人爱糖的程度,小小的一碗粥,他们有的人竟要加三勺砂糖进去,然后若无其事的喝完,看得我都有点骺得慌了…

忙碌了一个上午,所有的粥就都已消耗殆尽,没想到我们的工作完成的这么快!虽然这份工作看起来并没有忙到需要消耗一整天的时间,但是老詹愿意准备一整天的时间来帮忙,还是相当有责任心的。

吃过午饭,老詹要去补个午觉,看着他忙忙碌碌的一个上午,一定是累坏了,我也不忍心再让他陪我去逛寺庙,只能独自一人来到蓝毗尼人工河边。

从世界和平塔开始,又走马观花的逛了一大圈。

时近黄昏,我才想起去找小胡一起去车站买回加德满都的大巴车票。车站在佛寺园区之外的集市旁边,售票处是一个连窗户都没有的小铁皮房,经过询问后发现,回加德满都竟然还有夜间班车!

于是,我俩商量了一下,决定连夜离开蓝毗尼。

在尼泊尔,音乐是大巴车上的标配。与普通大巴车相比,豪华大巴上还有一台二三十寸的大电视,一直在滚动播放着印度电影。而且,豪华大巴还提供免费的矿泉水和饼干零食,一份不够还可以再多来一份!我惊讶于这么人性化的服务居然是尼泊尔大巴车上的标配,而同样价格的车费在国内却没有这样的待遇。

还有最让我以外的事情,就是这辆豪华大巴看起来已经行驶多年,但封闭的车厢里却没有异味!而国内行驶久了的大巴车,不仅空调空调不清洗,就连座位也从不擦洗,乘客们的汗渍逐年累计,以至于车上的气味十分难闻。久坐在车上,如不被晕车困扰,却要被气味熏吐。

伴随着黎明的太阳,我们终于又回到了加德满都。住进了熟悉的青旅,而熟悉的朋友该回家的都回家了…但是巧的是,老哥还在,小海也在,老哥买好了去泰国的机票正准备飞,而小海也买好了飞回杭州的机票,不日也要飞走。

我赶在他俩消失之前回来,话匣子一旦打开就再也关不上了,说话间,“无耻”的小海又要带我去赌场蹭饭,我赶紧摆摆手,表示不想再去占这便宜了…