Travel to Nepal (22) : The birthplace of Buddha

After lunch, Lao Zhan looked at me lying idle in bed and suggested that I go to the holy garden. It is not only one of the four holy places of Buddhism, but also the birthplace of Buddha Sakyamuni!

It is said that more than 2000 years ago in ancient India, the wife of the king of Jingfan in the neighboring kapilawi Kingdom dreamed that a white elephant with six teeth entered her body, and then became pregnant. There was a custom in India at that time that women would go back to their mother's home before giving birth. So Mrs. moye set out to go home. On the way back to Ning, it was the full moon night of the first month of the Nini calendar. Madame moye was resting under the Samoan trees in the garden of Lumbini. At this time, she helped the two trees and gave birth to the prince, Gautama Siddhartha.

As the most important holy land of Sakyamuni, Sakyamuni is the most important place in the world. I saw an endless stream of tourists and pilgrims coming and going on the streets, people everywhere kneeling in front of temples and Buddha statues. On the way to the Holy Garden, I saw countless pilgrims surrounded by a huge golden statue. This is what Sakyamuni looked like when he was a child.

He stepped on the lotus, pointing to the sky with his right hand and the ground with his left hand, saying, "heaven and earth are my own.". Those who don't understand Buddhism will surely think that this is the arrogant words of Buddha. But after careful consideration, we can understand the meaning that Sakyamuni wanted to express, which can be interpreted as: human beings are indomitable in the universe, and each person is his own master and determines his own destiny, and he does not have to obey anyone or any God beyond man. Therefore, the word "I" in "egotism" refers not only to Sakyamuni itself, but to each and every one of us.

The gate of the Holy Garden is a white arch. Whether it is monks, pilgrims or tourists, everyone who enters the park must have routine security check. The goddess temple and the Palace Museum of Mala Dynasty have not been checked before. And this holy garden is perhaps the most strict place I have ever seen in Nepal

Barefoot into the Holy Garden, see far inside the environment is much better than outside the garden. In the huge garden, besides the red brick road, it is to build neat green plant belts. These green belts not only beautify the environment, but also enclose many ancient relics inside, so as to play the role of fence.

Today, there is a white square two-story building in the birthplace of Sakyamuni. This is the mahamaya temple. Although the main body of the building is not very tall, it is solemn and solemn. Beside the temple, there is a pool with clear water, which is said to be the bathing place of Madame moye. There is a whirling double tree beside the pool. The tree body is about 13 or 4 meters thick. It reflects the water and its posture is Huafu. There are many tourists sitting around the pool to rest, while the monks are sitting around under the whirling trees and practicing meditation.

In addition, there is a pillar of Asoka beside the temple of Madame moye. In the third century B.C., more than 200 years after the nirvana of Buddha, the famous third-generation monarch of the Peacock Dynasty of ancient India built this monument like column in order to commemorate the expedition and promote the Buddhism. The lower part of the pillar is engraved with the inscription of Asoka in prakri language of the northern Indian dialect, saying, "Heaven loves to see the king (that is, Asoka) ascended to the throne for 20 years, and came here to pay homage in person.". Therefore, it is the birthplace of Sakyamuni Buddha. Here we make horse statues and stone pillars to commemorate the birth of Shizun here.

There are a lot of things worth seeing in the holy garden. Unfortunately, I am a little short of knowledge. I spent only one hour walking around the holy garden. When I walked out of the Holy Garden, I still knew what it was and why

Around the Holy Garden, there are Buddhist temples in various countries. Since the establishment of Lumbini Development Zone in 1978, Buddhist countries all over the world have built temples with their own Buddhist characteristics around the birthplace of Buddha, so they have become a grand gathering of various Buddhist schools in the world.

On the central axis of Lumbini, there is an artificial river running through the Buddhist Park, which divides the Buddhist Park into two temple areas. Zhonghua temple is located in the Western monastery area of Lumbini, which is dominated by Mahayana Buddhist temples. Mahayana Buddhism takes "universal salvation" as its aim of practice, and its highest goal is to become a Buddha. Believers regard Sakyamuni as a powerful, powerful and omniscient Buddha.

Besides Zhonghua temple, there are Korean Temple, Vietnam temple, Austria temple, Holland temple, German temple, Buddhist temple, Singapore temple, Canada temple, Nepal Tibetan Buddhist temple, etc.

Zhonghua temple is a typical Chinese palace style temple with red walls and yellow tiles. The Korean Temple opposite is also very Chinese, perhaps because it has been influenced by Chinese civilization, but its main wall uses green and blue elements, so it shows another feeling. Compared with Korean Temple, Vietnamese temple is another Chinese style, and the gate has the temple name written by man! Vietnam temple is surrounded by flowers, plants and trees, especially the water outside the temple. Rockeries stand in the temple, which looks like a beautiful garden!

In the Mahayana Buddhist temple area, except Zhonghua temple, Korean Temple, Vietnam temple and French temple, they are all Tibetan Buddhism. For example, to the north of Zhonghua temple is the Canadian temple, which is made up of elements of Tibetan Buddhist temples. Compared with the huge zhigonggaju lotus Pagoda in German temples, it can better explain its Tibetan sect, while the Austrian temple in European society is of classical Greek style. This is not to understand the religious culture of various countries in the case, just to watch the building is endless fun

The eastern monastery area of Lumbini is dominated by Mahayana Buddhism. Mahayana Buddhism focuses on self transition and seeking self liberation as its practice purpose. Mahayana Buddhism demeans the original primitive Buddhism and sect Buddhism as "Hinayana". However, this name is not recognized by the "Hinayana" Buddhist sect. For example, Buddhism in Myanmar, Thailand, Islamic card and other countries has always called their sect "Theravada Buddhism". The believers regard Sakyamuni as a master or a teacher, a person who has achieved complete enlightenment.

Almost all the temples in dongsiyuan district were built by Southeast Asian countries. There are Thai temples built of white marble, Cambodian temples with distinctive ethnic colors, and Burmese temples inlaid with Phnom Penh on each roof

Compared with Mahayana Buddhist temple, the architecture of Mahayana Buddhist temple is obviously more beautiful. Among them, Thailand temple is my favorite. It has distinctive architectural features. The main body of ivory white building, the buildings and cornices are carved with exquisite and exquisite patterns. Looking at the Thai Temple bathed in the sunset, I feel that the whole world seems to be gentle, everywhere is a quiet and good scene

You May Also Like

View More
Travel to Nepal (24) : Farewell
View More
Travel to Nepal (23) : Laba Festival
View More
Travel to Nepal (21) : China Temple

All Comments

Leave a Reply Cancel Reply

If you can't see clearly,please click to change...

午饭过后,老詹看着躺在床上无所事事的我,就建议我去圣园看看,那里不仅是佛教的四大圣地之一,更是佛祖释迦牟尼的诞生之地!

相传在2000多年前的古印度,附近的迦毗罗卫国净饭王的妻子摩耶夫人梦见有一匹六牙白象进入她的身体,随后就有了身孕。当时的印度有一习俗,即女子在生产之前要回到娘家去。于是,摩耶夫人也因此动身回家。归宁途中正值尼历正月月圆之夜,摩耶夫人正在兰毗尼花园里的娑罗双树下休息,这时,心情欢快的她手扶娑罗双树,生下了王子乔达摩·悉达多(释迦牟尼是尊称,为“释迦族圣人”之意)。

作为佛祖释迦牟尼的诞生地,蓝毗尼几乎成了全世界最重要的宗教圣地。我看到大街上来往的游客和朝圣者络绎不绝,到处都有人朝着寺庙和佛像行跪拜之礼。去往圣园的途中,我看到有无数的朝圣者围着一尊巨大的金色雕像,这便是佛祖释迦牟尼儿时的模样。

只见他脚踩莲花,右手指天,左手指地,说着:“天上地下,惟我独尊”。不懂佛法的人乍听这句话,肯定会认为这是佛祖的狂妄之言。但仔细思考后,我们才能领悟到释迦牟尼想表达的含义,可以解释为:人在宇宙中是顶天立地的,每一个人都是自己的主宰,决定着自己的命运,而不必听命于任何人或任何超乎人的神。所以,“唯我独尊”中的“我”字,并不是单指的释迦牟尼本身,而是指我们每一个人。

圣园的大门是一座白色拱门,不管是僧人、朝圣者还是游客,每一个进入园中的人都必须例行安检,先前去过的女神庙和马拉王朝故宫都没有安检过,而这圣园也许是我在尼泊尔见过安检最严格的地方了…

赤脚步入圣园,看到远内的环境却是比园外好了许多。偌大的园子里,除了红砖铺就的道路,就是修建整齐的绿化植物带,这些绿化带不仅美化了环境,还将众多古代遗迹围在里面,以便起到围栏的作用。

如今,在释迦牟尼诞生处建有一座白色方型两层的建筑,这便是摩诃摩耶夫人庙,建筑主体虽然不甚高大,但却庄严而又肃穆。庙旁有一泓池水明澈如镜,相传是摩耶夫人沐浴处。池边长着一颗娑罗双树,树身粗约十三、四米,倒影水中,姿态华敷。有不少游客围坐池边休息,而僧人们则是围坐在娑罗双树下,静坐修行。

另外,摩耶夫人庙旁还有立有一根阿育王石柱。公元前3世纪,在佛陀涅盘200多年后,著名的古印度孔雀王朝第三代君主阿育王为铭记征略,弘扬佛法,敕建了这座纪念碑式的圆柱,石柱的下部铭刻有古印度北部方言普拉克利语的阿育王敕文,曰:“天爱喜见王(即阿育王)灌顶登基二十年,亲自来此朝拜”。皆因此处乃是释迦牟尼佛诞生之地,兹在此造马像、立石柱,以纪念释尊于此地诞生。

圣园里有很多值得看的东西,可惜我知识上实在是有些匮乏,只用了一个小时就逛完了两圈,走出圣园的时候,还是一脸的知其然,不知其所以然…

围绕着圣园,还建有各个国家的佛教寺庙。自1978年建立蓝毗尼发展区开始,全世界的佛教国家都在佛祖诞生地周边建造了有着本国佛教特色的寺院,因此它们成了全世界各种佛教流派的大荟萃。

蓝毗尼的中轴线上修建着一条贯穿佛教园区的人工河,它将佛教园区分为东西两个寺院区。中华寺就位于蓝毗尼的西寺院区,西寺院区以大乘佛教寺院为主。大乘佛教以“普渡众生”为修行宗旨,以成佛作为最高的修行目标。信众们把释迦摩尼看做是一个威力广大、法力无边、全知全能的佛。

除中华寺以外,西寺院区还有韩国寺、越南寺、奥地利寺、荷兰寺、德国寺、佛国寺、新加坡寺、加拿大寺、尼泊尔藏传佛教寺等。

中华寺属于典型的中国宫殿风格的寺庙,红墙黄瓦,金碧辉煌。而对面的韩国寺也极具中国风,也许是因为饱受过中华文明的熏陶,只不过它的主体墙壁使用了绿色和蓝色元素,于是显现出了另外一种感觉。与韩国寺相比,越南寺却是另一种中国风,并且大门都有以汉子书写的寺名!越南寺周围遍布花草树木,又尤其寺外池水环绕,寺内假山林立,看起来俨然就是一座美丽的大花园!

大乘佛教寺院区,除中华寺,韩国寺,越南寺,法国寺是汉传佛教,其余皆是藏传佛教。比如中华寺的后面北侧是加拿大寺就是由藏传佛教寺院的元素构成,与之相比,德国寺中巨大的止贡噶举莲花佛塔就更能说明它的藏传教派,而同是欧洲社会的奥地利寺,又是古典希腊风格。这在不了解各个国家宗教文化的情况下,光是观看建筑就已是其乐无穷了…

蓝毗尼的东寺院区以小乘佛教为主。小乘佛教以注重自渡,寻求自我解脱为修行宗旨,是大乘佛教把原来的原始佛教和部派佛教一派贬称为“小乘”。但是这一称呼,“小乘”佛教派别本身是不承认的,例如现在缅甸、泰国、伊斯兰卡等国的佛教一直称自己的教派为“南传上座部佛教”。信众们把释迦摩尼看做是一个教主或是导师,是一个达到彻底觉悟的人。

东寺院区的寺庙几乎都是由东南亚国家修建。有白色大理石建成的泰国寺,有民族色彩鲜明的柬埔寨寺,还有每一座屋顶都镶嵌金边的缅甸寺等等…

与大乘佛教寺院相比,小乘佛教寺院的建筑明显更加好看,其中我最喜欢的就是泰国寺,它的建筑特色鲜明,象牙白的建筑主体,屋宇和飞檐都雕刻着精致玲珑的图案。看着沐浴在夕阳下的泰国寺,感觉整个世界仿佛都温柔起来,无处不是一番岁月静好的景象…